Weekly Cover Reveal Recap | June 26 – July 2 (Part. 2: Contemporary/Mystery)

Weekly CoverReveal Recap.jpg

Hey Bookworms!

Here are the covers that were revealed during the week of July 3 – July 9. Click the author to hop on over to their GoodReads page to add it to you’re TBR!

This was a big week for reveals. Hope ya’ll enjoy.

CONTEMPORARY

Layover by Amanda Andelson & Emily Meyer

Published by Crown Books for Young Readers

January 30th 2018

LayoverFLYNN: At first we were almost strangers. But ever since I moved to New York, Amos was the one person I could count on. And together we were there for Poppy. (I mean, what kind of parents leave their kid to be raised by a nanny?) I just didn’t expect to fall for him—and I never expected him to leave us.

AMOS: I thought I was the only one who felt it. I told myself it was because we were spending so much time together—taking care of Poppy and all. But that night, I could tell she felt it, too. And I freaked out—you’re not supposed to fall for your stepsister. So I ran away to boarding school. I should have told her why I was leaving, but every time I tried, it felt like a lie.

One missed flight was about to change their lives forever….

Perfect for fans of Clueless and brought to you by two Hollywood screenwriters, this wild journey of unlikely romance, heartbreak, and adventure—set against the backdrop of a blended family in free fall during a rebellious layover in Los Angeles—reveals the true value of the unbreakable bonds we forge when we dare to let ourselves risk it all.

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

Published by HarperTeen

March 6th 2018

The Poet XA young girl in Harlem discovers slam poetry as a way to understand her mother’s religion and her own relationship to the world. Debut novel of renowned slam poet Elizabeth Acevedo.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. With Mami’s determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself.

So when she is invited to join her school’s slam poetry club, she doesn’t know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out, much less speak her words out loud. But still, she can’t stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

Loser’s Bracket by Chris Crutcher

Published by Greenwillow Books

April 3rd 2018

Loser's BracketWhen a family argument turns into an urgent hunt for a missing child, high school senior Annie must do everything in her power to bring her nephew home safely. From the acclaimed and bestselling author of Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes, this provocative book about family, loss, and loyalty is for fans of Jason Reynolds, John Corey Whaley, and Matt de la Peña.

When it comes to family, Annie is in the losers bracket. While her foster parents are great (mostly), her birth mom, Nancy, and her sister, Sheila, would not have been her first picks. And no matter how many times Annie tries to write them out of her life, she always gets sucked back into their drama. But when a family argument breaks out at one of Annie’s swim meets and her nephew goes missing, Annie can’t help but think this is her fault. With help from her friends, her foster brother, and her social service worker, Annie searches desperately for her missing nephew, determined to find him and finally get him into a safe home.

HISTORICAL

Purple Hearts by Michael Grant (Front Lines #3)

Published by Katherine Tegen Books

January 30th 2018

Purple HeartsThe gritty and powerful conclusion to New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant’s epic alternate history series follows the young women American soldiers as D-day approaches during the final days of World War II.
Courage, sacrifice, and fear have led Rio, Frangie, and Rainy through the front line battles in North Africa and Sicily, and their missions are not over. These soldiers and thousands of Allies must fight their deadliest battle yet—for their country and their lives—as they descend into the freezing water and onto the treacherous sands of Omaha Beach. It is June 6, 1944. D-day has arrived.

None of these women are the same naïve recruits they were when the war started. They are Silver Star recipients and battle-hardened now as they traverse the dangerous bocage country and find their way out of the forests of Hürtgen and the Eifel. Others look to them for guidance and confidence, but this is a war that will leave 60 million dead. Flesh will turn to charcoal. Piles will be made of torn limbs. The women must lead through the devastating concentration camps of Buchenwald and Dachau while attempting to hold on to their own last shreds of belief in humanity.

In this powerful conclusion to the Front Lines series, New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant vividly evokes the gritty, brutal truth of World War II: War is hell.

MYSTERY / THRILLER

Infamous by Alyson Noel (Beautiful Idols #3)

Published by Katherine Tegen Books

April 3rd 2018

InfamousLayla Harrison never imagined she’d see the inside of a jail cell, but sometimes fate can be as nasty as a commenter on her celebrity gossip blog. Luckily, she wasn’t alone—fellow promoters Aster Amirpour and Tommy Phillips were also detained when Hollywood It Girl Madison Brooks’s dead body turned up at an Unrivaled nightclub.

But it wasn’t Madison at all. The real Madison Brooks is alive and hiding out after escaping a kidnapping attempt that almost took her life. Once the police discover they’ve made a mistake, Layla, Tommy, and Aster are set free—only to discover that they’re all being played.

However, none of their dirty little secrets compares to the one Madison has been keeping her entire life, and her past is dangerously close to being revealed. Which means Madison must come out from behind the shadows to ensure that she doesn’t lose everything she’s worked for, regardless of who might get caught in the crossfire.

The Greed by Scott Bergstrom (The Cruelty #2)

Published by Feiwel & Friends

February 6th 2018

The GreedThe action-packed, high-stakes YA sequel to The Cruelty sees Gwen face ever greater danger from the men who hunt her.

Gwendolyn Bloom is dead.

But even armed with a new passport and identity, the danger is far from over. Her father is safe . . . but Gwen still hasn’t untangled all his lies from the truth. Meanwhile, her enemies are closing in with a vengeance.

She found her father when he disappeared off the face of the earth—can she survive being on the other end of a manhunt?

Break Us by Jennifer Brown (Nikki Kill #3)

Published by Katherine Tegen Books

February 13th 2018

Break UsNikki Kill doesn’t see the world in black and white. Her synesthesia colours everything in view, transforming objects and numbers into emotions and clues. Which means she’s a dangerous commodity to anyone with something to hide. Nikki has already taken down the Hollises—one of LA’s most powerful families—for murdering her half-sister Peyton. Now she’s training to join the ranks of the police academy. Still Nikki’s promising future is languishing behind a cloud of gray uncertainty. After recovering from a hit and run, her mentor Detective Chris Martinez doesn’t remember their first kiss, and pieces of her troubled past are suddenly coming together as she investigates the incident.

Before she knows it, Nikki is on the trail of a cold case that couldn’t be any more personal – the death of her mother. But when the web of lies and secrets she uncovers leads back to the people who have tried to silence her, Nikki must pursue the blue tint of justice or everything—including her life—will be lost.


Are you looking forward to any of these books? Let me know in the comments below! Stay tuned for next weeks cover reveals!

Until next time,

Signature

TWITTER | GOOD READS | INSTAGRAM | BLOG LOVIN’

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Weekly Cover Reveal Recap | June 26 – July 2 (Part. 2: Contemporary/Mystery)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s